| University Library > Find Articles (Online Databases) |
Accessing the Library's Online Databases and Journals
- Who Can Access the Online Databases and Journals?
- Accessing the Online Databases and Journals While On-Campus
- Accessing the Databases and Journals from Off-Campus
- Option 1: TTU dialup account
- Option 2: EZproxy
- Which Option Should I use?
- Web Browser Requirements
- Dealing with Access/Connection Problems
This page describes how to connect to the library's online subscription databases and journals only. If you're off-campus and you need to connect to your LAN drives or your PC or use Outlook or other campus-only client software, you must use VPN. Do not use VPN for connecting to the databases and journals.
If you have questions about using EndNote, help resources are available.
Who Can Access the Databases and Journals?
You can use the online databases and journals if you are a current, fee-paying student, faculty or staff member affiliated with the Texas Tech University main campus or its remote campuses. Access is NOT available to the TTU Health Sciences Center, or its students, staff or faculty. The HSC is a separate institution with its own licensing agreements and technical support arrangements.
Accessing the Online Databases and Journals While On-Campus
If you are an authorized user and you're on-campus, you can access the online databases and journals from any Ethernet or wireless network connection (as long as the connection is via the TTU network). The "TTU Network" includes the public PCs in the libraries, wireless access points in the libraries and other buildings, and Ethernet connections in offices and dorm rooms.
Accessing the Databases and Journals from Off-Campus
If you are an authorized user and you're off-campus (at home, traveling, etc.), there are two options for accessing the online databases and journals.
- Use a TTU-provided Internet dialup (modem) account;
- Use EZproxy (recommended--it's easiest) (Instructions)
Do NOT use VPN (TTU's Virtual Private Network) for accessing the databases and journals. It does not work with some databases, and its interaction with EZProxy may cause problems.
EZproxy Instructions
Links to the library's online databases and journals, including links from SFX, are automatically configured to use EZproxy. No setup or other action is required on your part. If you are already logged in to VPN, it is recommended that you disconnect from VPN before using the databases and journals. VPN sometimes does not work well with ezproxy, and using both methods at the same time is unnecessary.
If you're off-campus (not on the TTU network), the first such link you click on will bring up the eRaider web login page. Log in with your eRaider ID and password, and then you will be redirected to the database or journal whose link you clicked. The next such link you click on will take you directly to the database or journal (because you have already logged in).
When you're through using the databases and journals, you can log out of eRaider by closing your browser (all of its windows). This is especially important if you've been using the browser on a computer that's located in a public place (for example, at a conference, the airport, etc.).
Which Option Should I use?
| Pros | Cons | |
|---|---|---|
| TTU dialup |
|
|
| EZproxy |
|
|
Web Browser Requirements
For any of the connection options (on-campus and off-campus) you should be using a recent web browser with Javascript and cookies enabled. Some sites may require a particular browser, such as Internet Explorer.
Access Problems
If you are an authorized user and are unable to access the databases, here are some possible causes and solutions.
- In some cases, you may be able to successfully log in to eRaider, but you get redirected to a library page that says you are not authorized to use the databases. This type of error indicates that your TTU affiliation status in the eRaider system does not allow you to access e-resources. If this happens, contact the campus help desk at 806-742-HELP. They can look up your status in the system. If you have checked with the campus help desk and you believe your status should allow access, contact the library help desk at 806-742-2220.
- If you have VPN turned on, turn it off. It can sometimes cause problems for EZproxy. VPN is not necessary to access web-based databases and journals anyway (EZproxy handles that automatically.).
- Check the Library home page for announcements of database technical problems or service outages.
- Check your browser settings, to ensure that Javascript and cookies are enabled.
- If you or your Internet Service Provider is using a web proxy server, anonymizer or firewall, you may need to bypass it, or not use it. Ask your Internet Service Provider or network system administrator about this.
- If the problem still isn't resolved, contact the Library's Computer help desk at 806-742-2220.
TTU Libraries are not responsible for the content of external sources.
For questions about this page, contact the Webmaster. |
This page last modified on 21 Jul 2006, 08:59.
