Digital Media Studio Policies

Circulation of Digital Media Studio (DMS) Materials and Equipment

The Digital Media Studio has both digital cameras and digital camcorders in its equipment collection. Each camera circulates free of charge for 48 hours.”

 

 Patron Status Media (DVDs/ Videocassettes) Renewals Digital Cameras

Undergraduates

 3 items for 3 days

one (1)

 48 hour checkout

TexShare

 3 items for 3 days

one (1)

 Cannot check out

Graduate /honors students

 5 items for 1 week

one (1)

 48 hour checkout

TTU Faculty and staff

 7 items for 2 weeks

one (1)

 48 hour checkout

TTU/HSC students

 3 items for 3 days

one (1)

 Cannot check out

TTU Law students

 3 items for 3 days

one (1)

 Cannot check out


Videocassettes, DVDs and other non print materials in the DMS' collection circulate free-of-charge to Texas Tech University students, faculty and staff. Community users with a valid TexShare card may also borrow items from the DMS' circulating collection, but are not allowed to borrow any of the circulating equipment. Each patron with valid identification can borrow items according to their borrower status (please see the above table).  Our service desk is 2nd floor east, University Library; 806-742-2245.

Digital Media Studio Use Policies
  • Do not install software on the Digital Media Studio computer or any other Library computers.  This includes software on disks, or downloaded software. Patrons found violating this rule will be subject to the loss of Digital Media Studio privileges.
  • Anyone removing equipment from the lab without permission will be subject to disciplinary action by the university, and the local police will be notified. 
  • Patrons should take care in moving around the studios at all times.
  • The DMS is not a quiet study floor.
  • Reservations for equipment are no longer accepted. Equipment is checked out on a first come, first served basis.
  • Patrons are responsible for returning all equipment in the condition in which it was checked out to them. If they do not they are financially responsible for replacement cost.
  • The DMS has How to Guides at the service desk for converting any media from the camera to the Macintosh or the PC. The DMS staff may not and will not convert your media for you.
  • To check any equipment for the DMS you must have a Texas Tech I.D. or a Library card with a barcode.
  • Use of DMS Equipment is a privilege; disregarding DMS policies will result in a loss of that privilege.
  • The 3D lab is open anytime the library is open.
  • A late fee will be charged to the patron's account when equipment is one hour late.  $1.00 an hour will continue to be charged until the equipment is returned.
  • If a patron shows to be “blocked” in the Library circulation system due to lost or non-returned items or outstanding Library fines or late charges, they will not be allowed to borrow any items from the DMS. There are no exceptions to this policy.