Finding Architectural Databases

The TTU Libraries provide access to a myriad of subscription and open access databases to help facilitate research and discovery. Below is a brief listing of subject specific databases related to architecture. For a full listing, check Find Databases.

 

In general there are two types of databases – full-text databases and citation databases. Fulltext databases provide instant access to journal articles while citation databases only contain article citations and abstracts.

 

If you discover an article in a citation database you can find the full-text of the article using the SFX link. SFX will locate the article in an alternate database, alert you to TTU print holdings for the journal in which the article is published and/or direct you to Interlibrary Loan if TTU does not own the item.

 

Architecture Databases

 

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

The most comprehensive index of the architecture-related periodical literature including architectural design, city planning, history of architecture and historic preservation.

 

Art & Architecture Complete

Provides indexing for a large number of art and architecture periodicals and full-text for some articles.

 

Architectural Graphic Standards

This searchable database provides more than 8500 references and construction drawings in CAD format. AGS is available on all of the workstations in the Architecture library. You must download a client to use AGS on your personal computer. Off-campus access requires VPN.

 

JSTOR

Online archive of almost complete runs of periodicals. Browse or search the Architecture and Architectural History discipline collection.

 

Other Databases

 

Art Full-Text

Provides electronic searching of H.W. Wilson’s Art Index from 1984 to the present. Full text coverage is provided for some of the indexed articles.

 

Art Index Retrospective

Provides electronic searching of H.W. Wilson’s Art Index records going back to 1929 through 1984.

 

Design and Applied Arts Index

Leading index for periodical literature related to design and applied arts with indexing coverage beginning in 1973.

 

LexisNexis Academic

Excellent resource for national and international newspapers and media as well as business, government and biographical information.

 

Sanborn Maps

Digital fire insurance maps for the State of Texas with individual city coverage ranging from 1867-1970.

 

WorldCat

A worldwide catalog of library collections and holdings. You may request titles you discover in WorldCat through the Document Delivery service.

 

Websites

 

BuildingGreen.com

This searchable web site provides specifications for green building, case studies, and the Environmental Building News archive.

 

MaterialConneXion

Search the materials library for product descriptions, including physical and usage properties, processing and sustainability.

 

 
Untitled Document